Thrusting

That title made me laugh. This is another fitness post. Be warned.

Right, you’re still here. Yay! This was yet another epic training session. Let me take you through it.

Warm-up

  • skipping (I tried the plastic rope this time as I usually use the fabric ones. What a difference! I’m going to buy myself a rope so that I can practice my double unders. Yes, I just said that.)
  • pigeon stretches (I love that today’s warm-up involved stretches.)
  • samson stretches (At this point I wondered what coach had in store for us.)

Strength

  • thrusters

Turns out we were going to work up to a 1 rep max on my thruster. Woo! Starting with the bar, we worked to 20kg, then 30kg, then 40kg, then 50kg! Yeah baby! 50kg thruster! I think I’ve got more in me so we’ll work on getting 60kg. Yes, I just said that too.

Conditioning: 21-15-9

  • calories on rower
  • wall balls
  • medicine ball sit-ups

This time I aced those wall balls! I even managed to do the 15 and 9 sets without taking a breather.

Loved. Every. Second.

No one took any photos of this session so I guess I’ll have to work to that 60kg 1RM thruster. You know, so that there’s evidence. Ha ha.

After sweaty hugs with coach Frances and training partner Tracey, I spent some alone time at the beach. I took my shoes off in the car and walked down the walkway. Bad idea. Over 30 degrees Celsius means very hot tar. My feet were burnt underneath but thankfully I could soothe them in the sea. I’m going to miss this place.

Thrusting

Thanks for reading x

Leave a Reply

