Low Carb Is Lekker Adventures: Vanilla Sponge Cupcakes and Chocolate Icing

Baby Girl loves cupcakes. When we go out sometimes then I’ll buy her one and she’ll just nibble on the icing then she’s done. We pack it up to bring home it ends up going into the bin. Not the best use of my limited funds. And it’s also full of sugar so definitely not the best choice of treat for her.

I was so pleased to see LCHF recipes for a basic vanilla sponge cake and basic chocolate icing in my Low Carb Is Lekker book.

Sponge_cake

Chocolate_icing

The recipe asks for the almond flour to be sifted. Yeah right! That was never going to happen. I started sifting one cup of flour and gave up halfway through. I was using a tablespoon to force the flour through the sieve. The rest of the flour just went in straight from the bag.

For the icing, it’s recommended to grind the xylitol. Again, that didn’t happen. I don’t have a coffee grinder but I did notice ready-ground xylitol in my local Woolworths store. Maybe something for next time.

I am so pleased with the end result. Yes, my piping needs a bit of work. I did use a freezer bag in a makeshift attempt to pipe the icing.

Baby Girl enjoyed having these keto cupcakes. I delivered some to a friend and it went down well with her family as well. I think Low Carb Is Lekker and I are looking at a good, long Banting relationship together.

My piping was better on the second attempt
My piping was better on the second attempt

Thanks for reading x

2 thoughts on “Low Carb Is Lekker Adventures: Vanilla Sponge Cupcakes and Chocolate Icing

    1. Hi there. I remember thinking that the batter was quite dense although it was quite a while since I baked them. I seem to recall it being quite stiff. They certainly didn’t rise like normal wheat flour cupcakes would. I did like the nuttiness and almost chewiness of them. They definitely went down well with the adults and kids.

      Like

Leave a Reply

