Seven Years

Seven years ago, the fifteenth of August was a Friday. Seven years ago, my friend and I went to a club. Seven years ago, my friend and I looked at each other and saw something different, something new. Seven years ago, I started on a journey with him that has had many highs and the lowest of all lows. Seven years ago I felt loved and adored by someone who had become my best friend. Seven years ago we laughed when he said “we’re in a ship of relations with only room for two.” Seven years ago, we were planning our future together.

Seven years later, he’s decided that he was never in love. Seven years later, he’s decided he’s a different person who would never have entered this relationship. Seven years later, he’s lied and cheated. Seven years later, he says he loves me but is in love with someone else. Seven years later, he’s walked out.

Seven years later, we have a beautiful, intelligent, funny, wiser-than-her-years two year old. Seven years later, we can’t find a common language so there’s constant misunderstanding. Seven years later, we hope our initial strong friendship is enough to see us through the hard times. Seven years later, we are both in pain.

Seven years later, I’ve packed up and moved to South Africa with Baby Girl. Seven years later, I understand more than I thought I would…especially about falling in love. Seven years later, I finally realise that genuine love can’t be switched off. Seven years later, I know that my world may have shattered but I am not broken. Seven years later, I am thankful. Seven years later, I am hopeful. Seven years later, I am blessed.

image

Thanks for reading x

Leave a Reply

