Nobody Said It Was Easy

I’m off to get my hair cut by Carlos Flores, the curl genius (more about that in another post). When I left home, Baby Girl was not happy. In between cries, she said things like “I want mommy” and “cuddle”. Leaving the house was difficult, especially as I could still hear her cries after I closed the door.

I can’t help but wonder if I’ve created this attachment. I wonder if it’s normal. One Facebook friend went on a girls weekend and left baby with daddy. Another regularly goes out in the evenings, leaving baby with a carer or daddy. I’m not judging or saying that they’re wrong. I just can’t see myself doing these things.

Baby Girl is nearly 2 and we’ve only just started using a babysitter on the odd occasion during the day. I do wish that I could do more, be more social but then I think about how she’ll react if I’m not there when it’s bed time and she wants booby. Oh yeah, I’m still breastfeeding her. I’m going to start night weaning soon, not yet but soon. Just need to do some more research.

This parenting gig isn’t easy. In fact, I do parenting a disservice by referring to it as a gig. Parenting isn’t easy and it’s made worse when we compare ourselves to others and second guessing ourselves. Thankfully I have The Special One to keep me in check, to keep me sane. If I seen to be coming undone then he helps to get me back on track. Now I’m rambling so I don’t know if I’m making sense. Lol.

image

So yes, all I really wanted to say was that parenting is hard and we don’t need to make it harder by doubting ourselves because we see other parents doing things differently. Like I always tell my English students…trust you’re instincts, they’re usually right.

Thanks for reading x

Leave a Reply

