The Real Meal Revolution Adventures: Spiced Pumpkin Salad

This is in the ‘sides and salads’ section of the Real Meal Revolution book and I served it as a light lunch (sue me). It appears on page 222 with its super long title…wait for it…Spiced Pumpkin and Goats Cheese. Sunflower Seeds and Citrus Dressing. 

Now for a confession, I used butternut. Yes, I’m not even sure if I should be writing this post given that I substituted the main ingredient. If this fact offends you, stop reading now.

If you’re ok with my poetic licence with this dish then let me tell you…it was amazing! Oh my, oh my. It was delish-us *licks lips as mouth waters*

Without further ado (seems I’m feeling a bit theatrical as I write this)..here’s the recipe:

Dressing:

Juice of 2 lemons (50ml)
1 tbsp Dijon Mustard
150ml extra-virgin olive oil
Salt and pepper

Combine the lemon juice and mustard in a mixing bowl. While whisking continuously, pour in the olive oil until a dressing is formed. Season to taste. (I chucked everything into the Vitamix and blended for a bit. Simple)

Salad

600g pumpkin cubes (I used butternut)
olive oil for roasting
1 tbsp ground cumin
1 tbsp ground coriander
1 tsp ground nutmeg
salt and pepper
200g chevin, broken into small chunks (aka goats cheese..yum)
1/4 cup sunflower seeds (I toasted some mixed seeds)
100g rocket, washed (I used a mix of rocket, spinach and watercress)

Preheat the oven to 180°C

Toss the pumpkin in oil, cumin, coriander, nutmeg, salt and pepper and place on a tray in the oven until roasted and nicely coloured on the edges (about 45 minutes). Set aside to cool.

Lay the rocket on a platter and top with the pumpkin. Layer chunks of chevin, sunflower seeds and, finally, a liberal splash of dressing.

Et viola!
Et viola!

The Special One had his without the cheese as he discovered that cheese is a trigger for his cough. He still enjoyed it though. These pictures don’t do this salad justice. Try it my way or the original RMR way. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it!

Thanks for reading x

Leave a Reply

