Writing 101 – A Letter

Dear Gerund,

We met for the first time this year but it feels like I’ve known you all my life. You know what I’m talking about, don’t you. That feeling of seeing someone every day, even talking to them sometimes, but only finding out their name weeks, months or even years later.

Once I got to know your name and we became more intimate, that’s when I realised how complicated you are. Thankfully, I can do complicated so I continue to learn more about you.

I’m amazed by your ability to change form. Sometimes you’re a ‘gerund’ and sometimes you’re a ‘present participle’. Whenever I see you, I need to concentrate to make sure who I’m looking at. To know your true intention. Are you a verb or a noun at that moment?

Also, you’re fussy as well. But I like that. Just look at The Special One! You only like to work with certain verbs, and that’s ok. You like consider, admit, recommend and understand to name but a few. Those you dislike are demand, begin, forget and refuse. I’d feel the same way if I was a gerund.

I just want you to know that I love spending time with you and learning more about you. After all, if I’m going to teach people more about you then it makes sense that I become an expert, doesn’t it? Until we meet again, my dear friend.

Yours sincerely,
Chelly
image

Thanks for reading x

Writing 101: the task

Pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What’s the first word that jumps off the page? Use this word as your springboard for inspiration. If you need a boost, Google the word and see what images appear, and then go from there. 

Today’s twist: write the post in the form of a letter.

Leave a Reply

