Writing 101 – What I’ve Lost

Today’s post challenge is to write about something (or someone) that we’ve lost, something that was part of our lives and isn’t any more. In this three part series, I have to tell you how it felt, how it happened and what changed because of it. I’ve been racking my brain to think about a loss that I’ve experienced that I’d want to write about. I’m also only giving myself 15 – 20 minutes to write this post because I am trying to cultivate that as a writing habit. Right, enough faffing about. Timer set, here goes…

Loss is nothing else by change, and change is Nature’s delight ~ Marcus Aurelius

In 3 days time it will be the 18th month anniversary of losing something that was very dear to me but that I had taken for granted for many many years. Something that I was told I should treasure, especially in the run up to the event that was about to happen those 18 months ago. Something that I knew I was going to lose but didn’t really realise the magnitude of the loss or that 18 months later I’ll still be doing without it. This loss, dear readers, was sleep.

You know you’re in love when you can’t fall asleep because reality is finally better than your dreams ~ Dr. Seuss

18 months ago, Baby Girl was born and I waved goodbye to sleep for what seems like a really long time. I went into labour shortly after going to sleep at around 1am on Thursday 21st March 2013. I managed to get some sleep that night and was awake again at 5am. That was the first time I lost sleep. She was born shortly after 11pm that night on the floor in our second bedroom with just me and her daddy there. (That bit wasn’t planned but it was perfect) We fell in love with this tiny little person and stared at her for what felt like ages until I remembered that we should probably call an ambulance to check us out. I don’t remember when we went to sleep. I don’t even remember if we did sleep. That was the second time I lost sleep. 

People who say they sleep like a baby usually don’t have one ~ Leo J. Burke

I’ve not had a full nights sleep since that day. Would I change it? No. Would I grab the opportunity to get some sleep? Maybe, it depends on the circumstances. Do I dream about having a full night’s sleep? Yes, but I’m happy to wait until Baby Girl starts sleeping through the night (in her own time).

Sleep is the best meditation ~ Dalai Lama

image

Sleep is precious. Appreciate it. Savour it. Make the most of it. Don’t take it for granted.

We don’t appreciate what we have until it’s gone ~ Boris Yeltsin

Thanks for reading x

2 thoughts on “Writing 101 – What I’ve Lost

Leave a Reply

