Writing 101 – Three Songs

When asked to write about the 3 most important songs in my life, these come to mind:

Golden by Jill Scott
Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence by Ryuichi Sakamoto
Here Comes The Sun by the Beatles

I love Golden… “I’m living my life like it’s golden golden.” This song reminds me that life is precious. That we should celebrate every moment that we have. That we should celebrate everything that we have and not dwell on what we don’t have.

Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence gives me chills every time I hear it. It’s a special song to me and The Special One. I remember hearing it for the first time on classic.fm and was mesmerised. We love it so much that we played it during our wedding while we were signing the register. So many (of the handful) of it guests asked us about it afterwards.

I’ve always been a bit of a Beatles fan. They appeal to my inner hippie. I’ve also got a little love affair going on with the sun. So much so that when I was 18, I had a sun tattooed on my back. 20 years later, I still love it (my tattoo and the sun) ๐Ÿ™‚ The Special One also likens me to sunshine sometimes… I like to think it’s because of my sunny disposition. He suggested that we play Here Comes The Sun as I walk up the aisle. Who was I to say no? It was the most appropriate song for us.

So there you have it. These are three songs that are significant to me. The songs that get me excited, make me feel alive and conjure up the best memoires.

Of you haven’t heard one (or any) of these before, pop over to YouTube and have a listen. I hope you’ll love them too.

Thanks for reading (and listening) x

Leave a Reply

