The Whole30 Prohibition

Until a few days ago, we were following (for the most part) a low carb high fat way of eating. We were enjoying dairy regularly, LCHF ‘sweet’ treats, even the occasional glass of wine. Then the Special One decided he needed a detox to deal with a persistent cough and I suggested we do Whole30 – the big daddy of Paleo. A quick search on Google and I was fully versed in the do’s and don’t’s of Whole30. No more cheese, yoghurt, cream, butter, 85% dark chocolate, stevia, xylitol, red wine. EEEEEK!! What have I signed us up for?

I was reading the Whole30 rules when I came across this:

It is not hard. Don’t you dare tell us this is hard. Beating cancer is hard. Birthing a baby is hard. Losing a parent is hard. Drinking your coffee black. Is. Not. Hard. You’ve done harder things than this, and you have no excuse not to complete the program as written. It’s only thirty days, and it’s for the most important health cause on earth – the only physical body you will ever have in this lifetime.

Those words really hit home for me. IT’S. NOT. HARD. Yes!!! I have a cousin and my bff who have beaten cancer. THAT was hard. I have birthed a baby without the help of the usual people – just The Special One and I. THAT was wonderful but hard. I have seen how losing a parent affected my husband and more recently, a close friend of mine. THAT was hard.

This Whole30 thing – it’s going to be a walk in the park compared to these things. I just have to keep that in mind when if I’m faltering. Thankfully I’ll have my support guy by my side. 🙂

We can complain because rose bushes have thorns, or rejoice because thorn bushes have roses.”  ~ Abraham Lincoln

Thanks for reading x

Leave a Reply

