Banting On A Budget – Market Steals

I suppose ‘steals’ isn’t really the right word BUT it does feel like the supermarkets are stealing from me when I compare what I paid for cucumbers at the market recently. Despite what Samuel Johnson once said about cucumbers…“A cucumber should be well sliced, and dressed with pepper and vinegar, and then thrown out, as good for nothing”, I happen to like cucumbers, as do the rest of my lovely little family. 

On Saturday I decided to visit the local food market and butchers to see what I could pick up instead of placing our usual online grocery order. I didn’t buy much as I want to minimise waste so my process is to shop based on a set meal plan for the week (within reason) but there are some essentials that I use every week…like cucumbers and peppers. 

These were seriously cheaper than the supermarkets! I don’t know why I haven’t been shopping there before. Here’s the price comparison:

market

So the savings may only seem like a few pence here and there but these prices are for 1 and I picked up 9 peppers and 6 cucumbers. At the end of the day, a saving is a saving. 

The cucumbers weren’t the prettiest I’ve ever seen. In fact, they were far from the perfectly formed ones that I get week in and week out with our grocery delivery. But they taste exactly the same. It may be mind over matter, but I think the market ones may even taste a bit fresher (you know what I mean, right?) 

Here’s a little cucumber composition that I took earlier. (Not bad for my first photoshoot with our super awesome Canon 70D)

cucumbers
Who wants ‘normal’ anyway?

This new find will alter the way we do our food shopping so we’ll probably do our online shop fortnightly or maybe even monthly if I start using the butcher regularly as well. Looks like banting on a budget may be even more doable than I thought! 

“Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food.” ~ Hippocrates

Thanks for reading x

Leave a Reply

