All Change Please – Paleo Whole30

I’m a big low carb high fat (LCHF) fan after discovering the keto diet last year and then being introduced to The Real Meal Revolution by my brother and his family while on holiday in South Africa earlier this year (I’ll be eternally grateful!). One of my go-to books as I’ve mentioned before is KetoDiet Book: 165 Low-Carb Paleo recipes & complete guide to the ketogenic diet. This book provided me with my earliest lessons into LCHF living. Prof. Tim Noakes and The Real Meal Revolution sealed the deal.

The Special One has been dealing with a cough for a long long time and despite visits to the doctor and various tests, he still has it. He said he wanted to do a detox and this seemed like the perfect time for us to do Whole30. I’ve not done it before but it seems like a good way to eliminate foods that may be causing this persistent cough. I’m very easily tempted and if there are crackers in the house (non LCHF ones) then I’ll end up eating one or a few. So this works perfectly for me because I love us to do things together and we won’t be buying anything that’s not allowed on Whole30.

Today was day 1. I’m not sure if I’ll be posting about it every day (right now I’m going to say that it’s unlikely) and I intend to see it though to the end. This morning, despite having planned our meals in advance, I was at a loss of what to have for breakfast. This was mainly because the fridge was pretty bare and groceries were only coming tomorrow. A quick trip to the shop was needed. Breakfast ended up being brunch because getting ready for a walk to the shop in the rain with a toddler takes careful planning and takes time. ๐Ÿ™‚

So this is a the little something that I cooked up and it became my brunch, Baby Girl’s lunch (she settled for boob for breakfast and cheese in the shop), and dinner for all of us.ย 

Simple chicken salad
Simple chicken salad

A delicious chicken salad. So simple and so good. Some salad leaves, cucumber, avo, tomatoes, topped with chicken. For the chicken, I cooked it in some olive oil and spiced it with salt, pepper, smoked paprika, bbq spice, balsamic vinegar. Once the chicken was cooked and there was no more pink in sight, I added some coconut milk (from a can) to the pan and let it cook until thick. A little experiment that paid off.ย 

“The only way to make sense of change is to plunge into it, move with it, and join the dance.” ~ Alan Watts

Thanks for reading x

One thought on “All Change Please – Paleo Whole30

Leave a Reply

