Banting in Britain on a Budget

Our food budget has sky-rocketed over the last few months so The Special One and I have decided to rein things in again and look carefully at our spending. We do a regular shop online but then top up by going to the local supermarket a few times a week. This means that we also end up buying nice-to-haves or things we don’t really need. Well it’s me who usually goes to the shop so I guess I’m the one who’s buying the extras.

With more frugal spending in mind, I compiled our menu for the week and created a shopping list based on this. It’s my intention to spend no more than £50 a week on food shopping. I’ll also (*try to*) post about what we’re eating and how we’re getting on with sticking to this budget.

The three stores where we’ve shopped online are: Tesco, Sainsburys and Asda. Lately we’ve shopped online from Asda because 1. they’re cheaper, 2. their website/app is superior to the other two, providing a much better shopping experience, 3. their delivery drivers are mostly friendly and 4. they usually don’t send products that are best before tomorrow! The nearest supermarket to us is Sainsburys and we can walk there very quickly so this is where we go for our top up shopping.

I intended to do a price comparison and do three pretend online shops at each store to compare prices. I only managed to do the Asda online shop before I was too tired to carry on. So today I went to Sainsburys to actually do the shopping because The Special One got one of these shopper cards which meant that we topped it up to the value of £50 but only spent £45 – bargain! Armed with my shopping list and mobile phone so that I could use the calculator, I was ready for action. I had finished getting the fruit and veg and started getting worried because I’d already gone over the £30 mark and still had to get meat, fish, cream and eggs.

wpid-20140611_142706-1.jpg
£49.65 worth of shopping…

The photo above is what I managed to get for just under £50. With the Asda shop, I also had chicken breasts, a whole chicken, cream cheese, lamb chops and another dozen eggs. A huge difference! I think we’ll continue to shop at Asda because the shopping will still be cheaper even with the £5 saving on the Sainsburys card top-up.

I would love to buy organic everything but that would more than double our food spend and right now that just wouldn’t work for us. Ok so, without further ado, here’s what I bought today…

  • 2 packs of chicken – thighs and drumsticks (this was for tonight’s dinner as we were having guests)
  • beef mince
  • beef stewing steak
  • peppered mackerel
  • double cream
  • greek yogurt
  • whole milk (I’m not sure why but I think it’s to make something I saw in The Real Meal Revolution)
  • kale
  • butter
  • broccoli
  • courgettes
  • mushrooms
  • 10 avos (we love them)
  • cherry tomatoes
  • spinach
  • lemons
  • cucumber
  • cauliflower (for some RMR cauli rice)
  • peppers
  • eggs
  • a sweet potato (I realised that you can have this in moderation on a LCHF lifestyle – yes, I said lifestyle)

I really want to try and stretch this over the whole week. I’d be cheating if I didn’t tell you that our fridge wasn’t completely empty so I will be using up some things that we already had. I cooked some delicious low carb ‘Not Butter Chicken‘ for dinner and it went down a treat. I still have some rice in the cupboard so I made a spicy rice concoction to accompany it for the non-banting diners. Our guests brought some salad which I jazzed up with avo, olives and some other bits from my shop earlier. We had a fantastic time. There was plenty of laughter and conversation. Good times 🙂

Thanks for reading x

One thought on “Banting in Britain on a Budget

Leave a Reply

