Chocolate Cake In A Cup

Yes, you read that right. I’ve been scouring the internet for low carb high fat desserts and came across a ‘chocolate cake in a cup’ recipe here.

I have it a try and The Special One loved it. I find it quite rich and so it definitely fills the ‘I really want a chocolatey dessert’ need. The recipe is simple and the first time I made it I followed it as is, except for the erithrytol. I don’t have any so used xylitol instead.

Second time around, I added a block of dark chocolate. Oh wow! It was so good that The Special One asked if I’d make it again later that evening.

The recipe below is what I used. See the link above for the original.

Ingredients:
1 tbsp butter
1 block of dark chocolate (I used Lindt 70%)
1 egg
ΒΌ tsp baking powder
1Β½ tbsp cocoa
1 tbsp double cream
Β½ tsp vanilla extract paste
2 tsp xylitol

Method:
Place butter in a mug. Break up chocolate into pieces and add to mug. Melt in microwave. (20 seconds on high worked for me)
Add egg and mix well (I use a small cake fork)
Add the rest of the ingredients and mix again.
Microwave mixture for 1 min 30 seconds.
That is it! All done.

image

We usually just have it in the cup with double cream. I turned it out into a bowl this time to see if it would photograph better and just slid out and it looked good too. To be honest, I should check how many net carbs are this dessert (and its really LCHF) but as a once in a while treat, it sure beats some of the crap I could buy in the shop.

Thanks for reading x

Leave a Reply

