CELTA Day 2

Today we learnt about how to structure a grammar lesson. It was fun and interesting as we had to put on our ‘student’ hats and we were taught as if we were learning English grammar. It really helps to see how these lessons take place instead of just been given the theory.

My mind kept going to forward in time…to after lunch. No, I’d not packed in a wonderful lunch, nor was I planning to buy one. Instead I was thinking about the lesson that I’d be giving later. Yes, day 2 of my course and I was up first to do teaching practice. Luck of the draw? I wonder how they decided who goes first.

I am pleased to say that I’m on my way home now and it’s over. You want to know something else? I survived 🙂 Yes, I was very nervous and felt very hot and sweaty. I think that was always going to happen (to me). But the students were able to learn something from me. From me! I’m feeling really good right now. I enjoy donning the teacher hat.

Yes, it’s still early in the course. Yes, there are lots of things I need to work on and improve. Yes, I have an assignment due on Monday and another lesson to prepare for Thursday. Yes, I’ve only had 4.5 hours of broken sleep. But right now, for the next half hour while I travel home, I’m going to bask in the success and feeling of achievement that’s come from competing my first lesson.

Thanks for reading x

Leave a Reply

