CELTA Day 1

Today I started the Cambridge CELTA (Certificate in teaching English to adults) course. It’s an intensive 4 week course although it can be done part time over  12 weeks or online through some schools. I want to get it over and done with so that I can start teaching and gain some experience. 

Day 1 was pleasant. We met our fellow classmates – there are 8 of us, and our 2 tutors. I think it’s the calm before the storm. Ease them in gently then wham! We got to observe 1 of our tutors giving a lesson. Gee whiz. It’s very interactive which is great. I like the idea of not standing in front of a class and just talking for ages.

I’m actually teaching a lesson tomorrow. Yes, that’s right. Day 2 and I’m first up to deliver am English lesson. Eek! I’ll be fine. Yes, I’ll be fine, right? Of course I’ll be fine. Right?

I missed my Baby Girl today. It’s the first time I’ve been away from her for so long. She had fun today by the looks of it. I think I was more embarrassed than anyone else I spoke to about my requirements regarding space to express or store breast milk. No batting of eyelids when I asked for a room at reception and the guy who runs the cafe was so lovely and took the milk from me to store in the refrigerator. Is breastfeeding seen as normal again?  People are mostly wonderful. That’s how I feel right now.

Well I’m almost home and can’t wait to see my 2 special people. I don’t need to cook as the meals for the week are in the freezer. I’m ready for some quality time and then hitting the books so that this teacher can prepare tomorrow’s lesson. Till next time.

Thanks for reading x

One thought on “CELTA Day 1

Leave a Reply

