The Real Meal Revolution Adventures: Nutty Crackers

I have been wanting to make these crackers from my LCHF bible, The Real Meal Revolution, for ages! My psyllium husk finally arrived in the post today so I could make them. Yay! These crackers are so simple to make and taste great. So great in fact that The Special One has instructed me to put them away for fear of finishing them.

image

This recipe is easy peasy. I had to make it in 2 batches because I didn’t have big enough baking trays but this wasn’t a problem.

Ingredients:
200g sunflower seeds
60g flax seeds
100g sesame seeds
2 tbsp psyllium husks
500ml water
1 tsp salt

Method:
1. Preheat oven to 160ยฐC.
2. Combine ingredients and leave the mixture to stands until it is thick and pliable.
3. Spread the mixture out as thinly as possible on a baking sheet or in a baking tray. The mix should have no holes in it. (I lined the tray with greaseproof paper.)
4. Bake the trays for an hour. You may need to rotate them away from the hot spots in the oven.
5. After an hour and a few turns it should only take another 15 or 20 minutes until they are seriously crispy. (I used a fan assisted oven so didn’t turn it and just named it for 1hr 15 minutes.)
6. Remove from the oven and leave to cool. Once cooled, break them into any size you like and store in an airtight container.
Makes 16 crackers (I didn’t get perfect shape so got more than 16 but then we were eating them so not sure what the actual yield was.)

I’m so excited with how these turned out. It’s definitely something I’ll be making often. Tasted great with the nut butter we made last night and it was pretty awesome with some cheese. I’ll be attempting some low carb courgette humus soon which should be a good accompaniment to the crackers. Watch this space.

Thanks for reading x

8 thoughts on “The Real Meal Revolution Adventures: Nutty Crackers

  1. I love these too but what I do is after 15 or so mins in the oven, I take them out quickly and score them into the size and shape I want (use blunt butter knife and sort of bang the lines in don’t pull the knife through..It upsets it) so you tap down all along lines…then when you are done you just peel the paper off and bend it slightly and you get nice ish controlled shapes and get to eat the ones that break!!! I see the real meal recipe now says use a silicon sheet inside baking tray…going to try that๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Everyone loves these. Better than a grain-based cracker any day. As they have become a staple in my house I make them about every 2 weeks. A couple of modifications I have developed are: 1) I grind a portion of the seeds In my coffee and spice grinder. The proportion varies from 100% to 50%. 2) I’m a bit of a perfectionist on shaping them. I roll between 2 silicon sheets (top sheet oiled with olive oil spray) and cut the edges and reposition cutoffs until I have a perfect rectangle, then I score with a pizza cutter before putting in the oven. The combination of grinding and scoring means I get very regular shaped and sized crackers and they fit in my cracker box nicely. 3) for baking in my oven and achieving good “snapability” I find they need 1 hr on first side, and 30 mins on second side. If they don’t peel off the silicon sheet easily for baking the second side, it means they need a little longer on the first side.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

