Three Things…You Probably Didn’t Know About Me

I’m not one to share much about myself, probably for fear of ridicule or some other reason that I think up in this head of mine. This blog is a way of overcoming that but I hadn’t shared it with anyone I knew except for The Special One (he knows everything). Recently one of my closest friend’s scolded me for not sharing and encouraged me to announce to Facebook that I blogged. It was scary but I did it and now I’m over it. This post isn’t about my worst secrets or anything like that. Just a few things that I don’t often share.

1. I’ve been married before.
This isn’t news to everyone, of course, it’s just something that rarely comes up in conversation. My mother-in-law only found out on our wedding day when it was mentioned in The Special One’s speech. *Embarrassing* My first marriage lasted 3 years. I was too young (24),  and too lacking in self-confidence and self-worth to end the relationship before the marriage so I just carried on and made it work. But that attitude could only carry me so far and there was a breaking point and when it hit, I left. I don’t regret that first marriage. It was the catalyst that got me out of a very comfortable place in my life and the divorce was the reason I moved to the UK. I needed a change of scenery. The marriage -> divorce -> move led to me meeting The Special One. I’m not sure if I would have met him if I didn’t get married that first time. Maybe the Universe set it up like that. A trial run for me to learn some life lessons before the real thing. If that’s the case, Universe, I thank you.

2. I was 17 when I first wore jeans.
Crazy, right? Wondering why? Well it was because I could never get into jeans. At least not female jeans. In fact, the first jeans I wore were from the men’s section. It was actually quite horrible when I think about it now. The were very loose fitting and too big in places and quite unflattering. Before I had them, there was one pair of black trousers that I lived in. They were my going out trousers. It’s so funny when I look back. It’s also sad. I’m not sure how I got so big and I realise that I missed out on a lot of things because of my size. I was often to embarrassed or scared to participate in things. I remember going on a date in high school and I wore my black trousers and the guy asked if those were the only ones I had. *mortified* Since then I’ve had a love/hate relationship with jeans. Often struggling to find a pair that a) fit and b) fit my waist and bum properly. Thankfully with the work that I’m putting in at the gym and making smatter food choices, this is getting easier. I can now rock skinny jeans πŸ˜‰ I think with my waist/bum measurement, this perfect fit dream may remain a slight problem.

3. I can’t ride a bicycle (yet).
Yep, that’s right. I have never ridden a bike. I don’t know why I was never taught by my parents or brothers. Well I don’t expect my mom to have taught me since she can’t ride a bike either but I definitely know my dad can as he still rides to the beach every day. My brothers were 8 and 11 years old when I was born, making them old enough to teach their baby sister a trick or two, but they didn’t. But, enough of pointing fingers. I am going to learn to ride a bike in 2014.    Feel free to ask me about that on New Years Eve ☺ I feel a sense of duty to be able to ride a bike. As a mother, I want to be able to go to the park and ride around with Baby Girl. That, and I just really want to ride a bike!

So, that’s that for now. I hope that wasn’t too boring! 😜

Thanks for reading x

Leave a Reply

