Hurts So Good

I am sooooo sore! On Monday (it’s Wednesday today) I did stage 5 day 1 of New Rules Of Lifting For Women. It was amazing! I felt so strong but phew was it hard work! It took longer than I thought, almost 2 hours passed before I walked out of the gym.

I love my NROLFW training sessions at the gym. I still get a bit self conscious, especially when the gym is full or when this one particular women is in the gym. She seems very confident and always works out in the free weights area. Hardly ever making eye contact, cap on, earphones in… just doing her thing. She laughed once, it was a free weeks ago, and I immediately thought I was the reason. Ah well…enough about my insecurities. Back to the workout.

When I arrived at the gym, I sat in my car a bit and watched some videos of correct form for one-arm dumbbell snatches on YouTube. You can only watch so much before it’s time to go and DO IT! When I did stage 3 (which have the same exercises as stage 5), I was disappointed with my snatch (he he) because pain in my right shoulder meant that I couldn’t increase weight like I wanted to. Well this is no longer a problem! โ˜บ I did 5 sets of 4 reps…starting with 10kg to warm up, then 2x14kg, then 2x16kg. I will probably go heavier next time…bosslike! 💪💪

My new PRs are:
One-leg Romanian deadlifts – 20kg
Overhead dumbbell squat – 20kg
Incline dumbbell bench press – 12kg (another one I couldn’t progress before because of my shoulder)
Yay me, right? โ˜บ💪

Oh and the end of stage 5’s A workouts is the body weight matrix. I have a love/hate relationship with this. You time yourself doing 24 squats, 12 lunges (each side), 12 jump lunges (each side), 24 jump squats. Then you rest and do it again. Whooo hoooo! Walking out of the gym after that took some time!

image

I love it…really!

Thanks for reading x

Leave a Reply

