The Real Meal Revolution Adventures: Avocado And Raspberry Shake

After 2 days of enduring nausea after having shakes for breakfast (you can read about that here and here), I was determined not to let this get the better of me. I will find a shake that is low carb high fat and also agrees with me. I consulted my LCHF (aka banting) bible, The Real Meal Revolution, and found the Avocado and Raspberry shake recipe. I had all the ingredients so fingers were crossed and I proceeded to make it.

Avocado in a shake is not new to me. The Special One and I have been adding avo to our shakes for years now. They weren’t always low carb though. Anywhooo…lets get to that shake.

  • 1/2 ripe avocado – pipped and peeled
  • 100g frozen raspberries
  • 100g extra thick greek yoghurt
  • squeeze of lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup ice blocks
  1. Combine all the ingredients in a food processor or smoothie maker and blitz.

I had high hopes for this smoothie especially after my disappointment with the Chocolate Fat Shake. On first tasting it, the tartness of the raspberries were coming throughย veryย strongly. I added 2 teaspoons of xylitol syrup and the other half of the avocado. Taste test number 2 – still quite tart. Added a bit more xylitol. Ah! Got the edge off the tartness and I was good to go. Gave The Special One a taste but it wasn’t sweet enough for him. More for me!!

20140411_095017
Avocado and Raspberry Shake – Yum!

It’s dinner time already and I’ve had no nausea or any other side effects (lol) from this shake. Yay! Only problem is that I’ve not got any raspberries left either ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Maybe I’ll try it with strawberries instead. I’ll let you know. Hmmm…maybe it’s time to do RMR hotcakes/pancakes again? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Thanks for reading x

Leave a Reply

