Homemade Coconut Flour

One of my all time favourite recipes so far in The Real Meal Revolution as I’ve already raved about here, are the blueberry hotcakes. Last time I made it, I had no coconut flour and neither did the supermarket. I was therefore left with only one choice – scour Google for a recipe and make it myself. After reviewing a few recipes, I settled on this one.

So I used the same measurements:

  • 2 cups of coconut flakes
  • 4 cups of water

I don’t have a nut bag so I used a small sieve with really tiny tiny holes. I used the boiling water method as I needed to get it in the oven to dry in time for breakfast the next morning.

The method:

  1. Boiled a kettle of water and poured 4 cups worth into the Vitamix and added 2 cups of coconut flakes.
  2. Blended it for less than a minute (it’s a Vitamix after all ;-))
  3. Poured this mixture through the sieve into the jug below.
  4. Whipped out a spoon and pushed and pushed and pushed into the sieve to get rid of as much liquid as possible.
  5. Use greaseproof paper to line a baking tray and pour coconut pulp onto the tray. Get rid of any lumps with a fork.
  6. Bake at 170C for about 45 minutes. At this point I turned off the oven and went to sleep.
  7. The next morning I had slightly toasted (almost like desiccated) coconut which I whizzed in the Vitamix and had beautiful flour 🙂

Image

And not much later we had yummy blueberry (low carb high fat friendly) pancakes. Yumolicious!

I plan to buy coconut flour in the future for when we decide to make the occasional LCHF friendly treats. Knowing how to make coconut flour is definitely handy in emergencies.

Thanks for reading x

Leave a Reply

