Time For A Career Change?

When I went on maternity leave I was pretty sure that I wasn’t going to return to that job. I had put in 10 years and this was the perfect opportunity to make a change and go somewhere else. When it was time to actually make the decision and inform them, there was no doubt that this was the right thing to do.

I used to bring work home (a lot), take my laptop everywhere (including holidays) and generally be available on my mobile 24/7. I didn’t want this anymore. I want home time to be just that, time spent with my family (lol… my homies – I couldn’t resist).

Then I started looking at part time jobs in the same field. I want to make a financial contribution to our family so that we can realise some of our goals and dreams sooner (and to buy Chanel for myself). But the more I applied for jobs the more despondent I became. This isn’t what I really want to do. When I was younger, I wanted to be a teacher. This is still a dream of mine and so now at age 38, with the support of The Special One, I am going to make that dream a reality.

We’re still working out how to make it happen but I’m excited that we talk about ‘when’ and not ‘if’ or ‘can I?’

It feels so good to pursue a dream and not compromise.

Thanks for reading x

Leave a Reply

