Props At The Gym

I enjoy going to the gym. I don’t go as often as I’d like and I really need to put together a workout program that I can do at home for days when I don’t make it there. But today I made it ☺ I dressed in my gym gear, dropped Baby Girl at the childminder’s and went straight there. I was feeling a bit rough with a sore throat and runny nose but I thought I’d go there and do what I can while I have the opportunity. I’m so glad I went.

I feel like I’m making real progress. Tomorrow I’m going back as I need to get some cardio in. I know there are women who don’t do cardio because they lift but I think I will benefit from doing some. And I have to do what works for me. Anyway, back to today. I’m on stage 4 of my New Rules Of Lifting For Women program. Today was workout B3 and I’m proud to announce a few new personal records.
💪 Deadlifts 57.5kg
💪 Bulgarian split squats 20kg plate
💪 Underhand grip lat pulldown 52kg

Boy does it feel good writing down those numbers. I remember when I did workout B2 and I came home and told The Special One that the deadlifts felt hard. Today they were pretty easy. I felt my grip give a little but I’m going to work on that a bit tomorrow and do some farmers walks at the gym.

One of the trainers came over to me and asked where my friend is who normally trains with me. I explained that she wants to do something else and prefers a less regimented routine than NROLFW. He said he’s seen that I’m quite strict and always have my papers (logs) with me and then asked to see the program. “Oh yeah, this is a proper strength program” he says, followed by ” well done for sticking with it” ☺☺☺ I didn’t feel patronised in any way. He showed a genuine interest and gave me props for the work I put in. And why not? Part of his job (I’m pretty certain) is to motivate customers and today he did a great job of that.

So right now I feel strong, motivated and ready for more! I’ve got Katy Perry lyrics playing in my head…

🎶🎶 I got the eye of the tiger, a fighter, dancing through the fire
‘Cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me roar 🎶🎶

Thanks for reading x

One thought on “Props At The Gym

Leave a Reply

