Pregnant and Swimming

Geez it’s been a long time since I wrote a post. This one isn’t about curls or running. It’s about being pregnant! Whooo hooo…yes I am 23 weeks and 5 days pregnant. Happy days 🙂 So I’m not going to get into all of the preggie business in this post as that will take me all day (or at least a number of posts). Today, I wanted to have a little rant about maternity swimsuits.

I think I am having a pretty ‘standard’ pregnancy and therefore this includes the need to urinate more often than normal. I’m also making sure that I’m having my daily allowance of water to keep myself and our little baby hydrated which means the need for a toilet break increases even more. So why oh why do they make one piece swimsuits knowing that us pregnant ladies are going to have to climb in and out of them often?

Consider this a word of caution…a piece of friendly advice to any woman out there contemplating buying swimwear. Get a tankini or rock a bikini but under no circumstances should you get a one piece. It’s the most annoying thing to have to climb in and out of one every so often that nature calls. Now there are those people who may say just go about your business in the water…as my niece would say ‘grosshana!’. That’s super gross.

Coming out of the water and trying to get out of the swimsuit and back in again is just torture. Argh! So instead of getting one of these as seen at Figleaves (yes I know they’re pretty – that’s why I got one…)

Image

Opt for one of these more practical but equally impressive little numbers…

Image
Cute, right and so difficult to tell the difference! From Figleaves

or

Image
Removable straps – Asos

There are loads out there to choose from. Just do yourself a favour and make sure it’s a 2-piece!

Hugs,

xx

Leave a Reply

