Curly Hair ‘Fun’ With Henna

When I placed my wishlist order from Sheabutter Cottage last month I included an extra treat – henna and amla. I love using henna to colour my hair. I like the ideaof using natural products so henna is perfect. Also, I read somewhere (in a few places) that henna is good for curly hair.

It’s a bit of a process though. I mixed the henna and amla powder together with some warm rooibos (redbush) tea to form a thick paste. You don’t want it to be runny otherwise it’ll be running down your face/neck. I left it to ‘brew’ for a couple of hours (I had time to kill) and then started the application process. Henna is not fun to apply – it’s not awful – but it’s not fun. The difficulty is getting in onto all the hair – in my case, that’s what I find. I end up packing it on my hair massaging it a bit and hoping for the best ๐Ÿ™‚

The first pic shows you what I look like once it’s all packed on and wrapped around my head. This is to prepare for step 2…wrapping my head in cling film. Yes, that’s right…cling film. Firstly, it’s very difficult for anything to escape from under the wrapping and secondly, I think the heat probably helps the henna ‘take’ a bit better. Step 3 is to wrap it up again in a scarf or in this case, a bandanna. I was going to sleep with the henna in my hair so needed the additional protection.

In the morning, I was prepared for rinse after rinse after rinse after rinse…you get the picture. It started with me bent over the bath just letting the water run over my hair. Then after a few minutes, the massaging started to loosen up the think chunks of henna. Once the big bits were out then I used some of the Inecto Coconut conditioner and worked that through my hair. It has great slip and I find it perfect to use for rinsing out the henna.

A couple of Inecto/bath rinses and I was ready for the shower. I have never been able to get the water running clear after the first day of rinsing. Never. And I spend a long time in the bath and shower trying to get it all out. Don’t worry if you can’t get it all out – just be sure to dry your hair before putting on clothes otherwise the colour will transfer from your wet hair. And use towels that you’re willing to discolour. I use old t-shirts instead of towels anyway so am not fussed about them getting a little orange.

I always do a deep conditioning treatment following a henna application – it just makes the colour…almost…pop! I follow my same curly hair routine afterwards – co-washing and conditioning, sealing with oils, deep conditioning as often as I can remember.

I wish the sun would come out so I could take photos to show the vibrant colour. I used the flash in the pics below but it doesn’t really show what it’s like. The colour is lovely and rich.

There was a bit of henna that wasn’t used so I’ve wrapped that in some cling film and chucked it in the freezer. I’ll save that for the weekend before we go on holiday to do a henna gloss. But I’ll save that for another post.

Have you tried henna before?

Thanks for reading.

ps…I promise to work on the picture quality next time ๐Ÿ˜‰

x

Leave a Reply

