A Week of Blessings – Week 1

I try and stay positive through whatever Life throws at me. While I don’t always succeed at it, for the most part I manage to look at the bright side, see a silver lining or a light at the end of the tunnel (you get the picture). I think that sometimes when something goes wrong or isn’t working the way we expect it to, we focus only on that one thing and fail to step back and look at the bigger picture and see where things went right and did work out exactly as we wanted it to. Or we want the big thing to happen and beat ourselves up about it and don’t consider that little (positive) things have been happening that may lead to the big thing. Make sense?

Which brings me to the title of this post. I have decided that no matter what type of week I’ve had or am having, I will record 1 good thing for each day and post it every Sunday. It reminds me of a hymn I remember from my childhood…”Count your blessings, name them one by one”. So that’s the plan – every Sunday I’ll post my week of blessings with the aim of remembering that I’m too blessed to be stressed πŸ™‚

Monday – 24th Oct – I had to make a detour on the way into work (adding an extra half hour onto my journey) to pick up a colleague and he had a hot cup of peppermint tea waiting for me…nice.

Tuesday – 25th Oct – I went to Bristol and on the 2 hour drive back it was raining but I had a gorgeous rainbow to look at πŸ™‚

Wednesday – 26th Oct – Seems like the rainbow followed me…I was making a 2 hour journey back from Portsmouth and it started storming and again a rainbow came out to greet me.

Thursday – 27th Oct – Movie night got cancelled (we go and watch a silent movie once a month) which meant that I got back in time to return some clothes I’d bought online and The Special One suggested we get Nandos for dinner (veggie option – yum)

Friday – 28th Oct – I wasn’t too impressed that a meeting got cancelled really late on Thursday night. I decided to stay at home and play catch up on some work. Around lunch time I got to see how our garden comes alive with visits from birds and squirrels.

Saturday – 29 Oct – The meditation class that I went to didn’t happen as the person who was meant to open the room didn’t turn up. I was really looking forward to this. The venue is part of a garden centre and while walking back to the car I decided to have a browse around. A few hours later I had carrots, onions and shallots planted in the garden πŸ™‚ I’ve been wanting to get some veggies for ages.

Sunday – 30 Oct – It was a perfect day. The Special One and I chilled, did some work, watched a few shows.

So that is the week that was. So much to be thankful for. So much to look forward to.

Thanks for reading.

x

Leave a Reply

