Time for a Winter Curly Hair Routine

The mornings are getting colder and it’s getting more difficult to leave the warm haven of my bed…especially as my husband only leaves for work about 3 hours after I do. (Aaaaah, ย I do love saying ‘husband’)

My current (normal) curly hair routine is this:

  • Every morning rinse hair in the shower (or co-wash)
  • Condition (leave it on while I’m washing)
  • Rinse hair (usually leave some conditioner in)
  • Get out of shower and squeeze out excess water
  • Add more conditioner as leave-in
  • Add styler (sometimes I skip this step)
  • Plop (read as ‘wrap hair in t-shirt’)
  • Just before I leave the house – remove t-shirt
So this is my routine. Most days I drive to the office or to one of our stores. Usually by the time I reach the office my hair is still wet. It’s an hour long drive. Now that winter is starting to settle in – albeit slowly – I am starting to think about what my options are for a winter hair routine. My curly hair loves water and product and takes soooo long to dry.
The way I see it, my options are:
  1. keep doing the same routine
  2. wake up earlier so there’s time to dry my hair
  3. do my hair at night
Weighing up the pros and cons of each option, it looks like option 2 wins. Option 1 means that I leave the house with wet hair, get to work with wet hair. It also means that I can’t wrap up warm with a scarf or my beloved snood because my hair will be…wet. Option 3 means that I’ll have to fit all my hair (I have a lot of hair) into a shower cap while I’m having a shower. I have to shower in the morning – if I don’t then I feel…not dirty, but something close to that, all day. Maybe my husband, who shall henceforth be known as The Special One, and I can get into bed a little earlier then it won’t feel so bad getting out of bed half an hour earlier.
Me and my snood (taken last winter)
Actually, I’ve given it some thought. Going to bed earlier won’t make me feel any better about waking up earlier. It will feel good though ๐Ÿ™‚
If anyone has a better winter curly hair routine to offer, I’m all ears.
Thanks for reading
x
Leave a Reply

